David W. Henry 2009


Lectures: Guest Lecture | Spring Lecture

Dave Henry received his bachelor’s degree in Pharmacy from the University of Kansas in 1973. After graduation he worked as a staff pharmacist at the University of Kansas Medical Center for two years, then began coordinating and teaching clinical clerkships at the Medical Center as an instructor for the School of Pharmacy. 

In 1978, Dave entered the KU Masters in Hospital Pharmacy program while he continued to teach, completing the degree in 1984. In 1986 he became an Assistant Professor and in 1992 was promoted to Associate Professor with tenure. His clinical practice has been in Pediatric Hematology and Oncology.

Recognition for teaching includes the Rho Chi Teaching Excellence Award for the University of Kansas School of Pharmacy in 1981 and Preceptor of the Year awards in 2002, 2003, and 2007. He has served as major professor for 7 MS theses, and on 9 other thesis committees. Along with Casey Williams, he helped establish the University of Kansas Hospital Department of Pharmacy Oncology Pharmacy PGY2 residency in 2008.  Dave has given presentations at ASHP, ACCP, PPAG, HOPA, ISOPP, and state pharmacy association meetings, as well as an International Symposium on Clinical Pharmacy in Tokyo, Japan. 

Major service to the School of Pharmacy has included serving on the Curriculum Committee for 16 years, including serving as Chair for the 6 years during which the Pharm D curriculum was developed. Dave also served as Faculty Delegate to AACP for 18 years, and has currently been on the School of Pharmacy Faculty Executive Committee for 7 years.  He has been an ASHP Liaison to KU for numerous years and served as an SSHP advisor and Kappa Psi advisor for several years. 

Dave’s service to the profession has included: District Director for KPhA, President of KSHP, ASHP Professional Affairs and Educational Affairs Councils, 5 years on the Kansas Medicaid DUR Committee, Secretary of the AACP Section of Pharmacy Practice, 9 years as Chairman of the Pediatric Oncology Group Pharmacy Committee, 9 years on the Pharmacy Core Committee of Children’s Oncology Group, 5 years on the COG Nutrition Core Committee, 3 years on the COG Chair’s Protocol Review Committee, and 4 years on the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties Oncology Specialty Council, currently as Vice-Chair. 

Dave has authored or co-authored 43 articles and chapters, including chapters in DiPiro’s Pharmacotherapy, Koda-Kimble’s Applied Therapeutics, and the 2010 electronic version of ASHP’s Concepts in Oncology Therapeutics. His research has ranged from studies on the stability of extemporaneous drug formulations to chemotherapy dosing in obesity or malnutrition, and treatment of sarcomas. He is currently on the protocol writing committee of 12 Children’s Oncology Group soft tissue and bone sarcoma protocols. 

Previous awards and recognition include KSHP Pharmacist of the Year, the KSHP Godwin Lecture Award, Fellow in ASHP (1993), and Board Certified Oncology Pharmacist (1998).

2nd among all schools of pharmacy in National Institutes of Health funding
Brings more than $20 million in external funding into the state each year
7 of 19 cancer drugs formulated through the National Cancer Institute were developed at the KU School of Pharmacy
3,000 free flu shots given to Kansans in need during the past 5 years
4,000 living alumni, 63 percent of them living and working in Kansas
KU pharmacists practice in 95 of Kansas’ 105 counties
20th among public schools of pharmacy.
—U.S. News & World Report
$20.2 million NIH research grant earned by Distinguished Professor Jeff Aubé was 2nd largest in Kansas history
100 percent placement after graduation for KU Pharm.D. students
Established in 1885 as the 1st professional program at KU
KU Today