Pharmacy Department

Executive Director of Pharmacy

Rick Couldry, RPh, MS

Pharmacy Team

  • Administration: Executive Director of Pharmacy, 4 Directors of Pharmacy, 3 Assistant Directors of Pharmacy, 4 Clinical Managers, 8 Operations Manager, and 10 Clinical Coordinators
  • Over 300 pharmacy FTEs across the health system

Pharmacy Locations

Main Inpatient Pharmacy, OR Satellite, Heart Center OR Satellite, Community Cancer Center Pharmacies, Outpatient Retail Pharmacies, Clinical Research Center, Rainbow 39 Acute Rehabilitation, Marillac, and Westwood Cancer Center

Pharmacy Protocols

Renal dosing antibiotics, pharmacokinetic monitoring, automatic substitution policy, warfarin dosing, IV to PO changes and more

Pharmacy Committee Involvement

Pharmacy and Therapeutics, Pharmacy Practice Council, Antibiotic Subcommittee, Hematology/Oncology/BMT Subcommittee, Medication Safety, Peer Review, Nursing Practice Council, Critical Care Council, Pulmonary Hypertension, Pneumonia Committee, Ancillary Care and more 

2nd among all schools of pharmacy in National Institutes of Health funding
Brings more than $20 million in external funding into the state each year
7 of 19 cancer drugs formulated through the National Cancer Institute were developed at the KU School of Pharmacy
3,000 free flu shots given to Kansans in need during the past 5 years
4,000 living alumni, 63 percent of them living and working in Kansas
KU pharmacists practice in 95 of Kansas’ 105 counties
20th among public schools of pharmacy.
—U.S. News & World Report
$20.2 million NIH research grant earned by Distinguished Professor Jeff Aubé was 2nd largest in Kansas history
100 percent placement after graduation for KU Pharm.D. students
Established in 1885 as the 1st professional program at KU
KU Today